Reviews

7.8
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.9
Comfort
7.4
Property location
8.0
Facilities
7.9
Staff
8.4
Value
7.3

Reviews

    NannyRoRo
    gb

    Review score

    6.2
    25 September 2018

    Relaxing stay but used beaches and local bars for food and drinks

    Charge for resident sunbeds at lido pool. High priced drinks in resort bar. Plug sockets not working in room and lights not working. Lagoon water is dirty, sediment all slimey in between toes and water all cloudy , not used by anyone apart from a paddle boarder. Unannounced pool party Saturday afternoon with extreme music and a pool full of youngsters. Dirty underwear left on our terrace
    Clean and secure. Free sunbed at all rooms and on beach front. Seafront location. Daily maid service. Supermarket on site
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    25 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Amynimmo
    gb

    Review score

    10
    25 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    John
    ie

    Review score

    3.3
    25 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Dean
    gb

    Review score

    6.5
    24 September 2018

    It was still a good holiday.

    Uncomfy beds, especially pillows. Shabby furniture, didn't seem like a 4 star even if it was a standard room, should all be of good quality.
    Beaches, lovely and pools, staff lovely, the town good.
    gb

    Review score

    5.8
    23 September 2018

    Unless you can guarantee booking a refurbished apartment don’t waste your money on this place.

    The room we were allocated initially was very smelly and also situated right next to reception where every guest on the site had to pass to exit or enter the complex which left me feeling a bit on show and slightly vulnerable. We asked straight away if we could move which we were able to do, slightly better location but the bad smell in the apartment was absolutely disgusting and unbearable, we ended up staying one night and in the morning I started looking for an apartment elsewhere, I had decided that paying again for somewhere acceptable was worth it not to stay in that awful place, the overpowering stench of stale urine and unbelievable heat in the apartment was just so bad. I really have never experienced anything like it. Upon mentioning to the receptionist again that were moving to another hotel we were offered the third room. This was pretty much smell free, clean with modern furnishings, just what you expect from a holiday apartment. The only downside was the unrelenting heat inside, I understand that there is no air conditioning in the rooms at Sands Beach but I really think it should be something they consider investing in, my husband had to sleep on the sun lounger outside one night as it was so bad. The bathroom being the worst, I couldn’t stay in for more than a few minutes at a time as I came out feeling sweaty and less fresh than when I went in. The small electrical fan which is supplied in the apartment was running non stop for the entire week we stayed there,I dread to think how much electricity and energy that wastes if each of the hundreds of guests are doing the same, this from a hotel who supposedly has a policy on environmentaly friendly procedures. Totally pointless waste of electricity as the fan was useless, just blowing the hot air around the bedroom and keeping you awake with it’s whirring and clicking noise. Although the staff here are helpful it really is the only positive thing I can say about our stay.
    We were kindly offered a change of room to a recently renovated beach front apartment, the receptionist and manager on duty were very helpful and couldn’t have done more to help us with our request.
    Terence
    ie

    Review score

    7.5
    22 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    John
    ie

    Review score

    8.3
    21 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Mark
    ie

    Review score

    10
    21 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    joan
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    21 September 2018

    Beautiful place but freezing pools, no shade around pools and rocky beach let it down.

    No parasols around pools so no shade. The beach was very rocky. Not impressed with Mai Tai - the pool was meant to be heated but was maybe 2 degrees warmer than other pools which were really cold, the food was not very good there either.
    The layout of pools and rooms, on site supermarket, everywhere was very spacious. The sunbeds and parasols around the lagoon. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
    Jason Beaumont
    gb

    Review score

    10
    20 September 2018
    Nothing to dislike it was a fantastic location and holiday.
    I liked the staff and how helpful they were especially when checking in. The apartment was amazing the pools and bars were great and all so very clean.
    Jerry
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    20 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Matthew
    gb

    Review score

    7.1
    20 September 2018

    Fair- would stay again

    We had a few issues with our room- a corner unit fell over and hit one of us. The staff were helpful but not all issues were resolved and we were told the manager would call us but didn't. The phone was broken which re reported to the hotel staff- which may not have helped. We were also slightly disappointed at the small touches needed for self catering. There were no tea towels provided or a dishcloth.
    The staff were all very nice and great that the little supermarket was on site and open 24hours. Facilities all looked good and great for activities!
    ie

    Review score

    8.8
    20 September 2018
    Not much entertainment for couples staying without children
    Very private and well equipped apartment On site supermarket Access to the beach Distance to the airport
    William
    gb

    Review score

    7.0
    19 September 2018

    Very quiet, lots of steps, had to pay 6€ each for a sun lounger by the only pool bar

    Room were given couldn't have been any farther from reception
    Andrew
    gb

    Review score

    7.9
    19 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Therese Harvey
    ie

    Review score

    9.6
    18 September 2018

    Great for families

    I have to admit that the bed was incredibly uncomfortable. I know I was staying in the studio apartment but a camper type/fold up bed should not be the norm or acceptable. It was small so my husband spent the week on the couch and every time I turned in my sleep I woke to the noise of the bed frame. I understand that I got the studio at a very good price but should I have stayed there during peak months I would have paid almost twice the price for the room. This is a four star resort but a one star sleeping arrangement....NOT great!!!
    Staff are excellent. The pools are spotless. It's a lovely relaxed environment. Facilities are just brilliant ❤
    Aideen
    ie

    Review score

    6.7
    17 September 2018

    Great location, very family friendly atmosphere, room needs updating

    The apartment we stayed in was very dated and the kitchen was very poorly equipped. The windows are terrible, didn't close/lock properly in the bedroom. We expected aircon but there wasn't any. As we were on the ground floor we were not comfortable to leave window open at night as we have a little baby and very conscious of security and also keeping bugs out. Ideally there should be a mosquito net on the window so you can keep window open and pests out (including all the stray cats). Also the heated pools were still pretty cold, our baby was shivering when in the pool which was such a pity. Requested later check out (from noon to 2pm) due to our baby, the additional 2 hours cost €20 which is disappointing after all we spent there over 2 weeks. At exactly 2pm the cleaner arrived and pressurised us to leave telling us our time was up, again very disappointing.
    Fabulous location, wonderful sea view, very close to restaurants, bars, supermarkets. Super promenade to walk. The layout of the property is great everyone has their own space, great swimming pools. The fitness classes were fantastic, Zoe is a super instructor. Staff very friendly. Food good value.
    Aoife Lohse
    ie

    Review score

    9.2
    17 September 2018

    Great resort

    Great facilities, choice and location. Nice staff and activities for residents. Great place for families we look forward to going back again.
    Clodagh Cooke
    gb

    Review score

    10
    16 September 2018

    3rd time in sands Beach previous when children young in 2004 and found it still up to high standard

    Only two things I didn't like - No sun umbrellas at pool for shade so unable to sit at pool because can't sit out in sun as too warm - I feel room should have a fan found room very hot at night a bit uncomfortable to sleeo
    In general everything staff friendly and very helpful when needed and everything very clean - place in a lovely and quiet surroundings and very spacious
Loading reviews